

Office of the Academic Senate

Linda M. Beale, President

Amendment to the By-laws of the Wayne State University Academic Senate Creating a Standing DEI Committee of the Senate

WHEREAS the Academic Senate has operated for two years with an ad hoc DEI committee on the expectation of the addition of the committee as a standing committee of the Senate;

AND WHEREAS it is vitally important that the Academic Senate establish such a committee for the 2023-24 academic year;

AND WHEREAS the addition requires only changes relevant to the DEI committee and not to other parts of the bylaws;

THEREFORE, **BE IT RESOLVED** that the Academic Senate hereby approves the amendment of the Senate By-laws to add a standing Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee (DEIC), as provided by the changes set out in the attached appendix in bold red formatting.

Appendix to the Resolution Amending the By-laws to Create a Standing DEI Committee

Article VII. STANDING COMMITTEES

Section 1. Organization. The Senate shall organize itself into the following standing committees:

Policy Committee (PC)
Budget Committee (ASBC)
Curriculum and Instruction Committee (CIC)
Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee (DEIC)
Elections Committee (ASEC)
Facilities, Support Services and Technology Committee (FSST)
Faculty Affairs Committee (FAC)
Research Committee (ASRC)
Student Affairs Committee (SAC)

Section 3. Liaisons. Each standing committee except the Elections Committee and the Policy Committee shall maintain communication through liaisons with the University Administration, the Wayne State University AAUP-AFT Local 6075, Chapter of the American Association of University Professors, the Student Senate, the Policy Committee, and the Union of Part-Time Faculty. The DEI Committee shall also have a liaison from any university-wide DEI body (such as the DEI Council), and the Policy Committee shall appoint at least one Senate representative from the DEI Committee to such university-wide bodies, including the DEI Council Steering Committee. The liaisons from the University Administration will be appointed by the President of the University or his/her the President's designee. The remaining liaisons will be appointed by their corresponding organizations.

Section 8. Policy Committee Duties. The Policy Committee shall have the following duties and responsibilities:

B. It shall appoint members to the standing committees of the Senate, in accordance with the procedures set forth in Article VII, Section 5. It shall also assign one of its own members to serve as a liaison member with voice but no vote on the FAC, the CIC, DEIC, the ASRC, the SAC, and the FSST. The President of the Senate shall serve as liaison to the Graduate Council and to the Elections Committee

Section 11. Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee. The DEIC shall consist of at least two members from the College of Medicine and the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, and at least one member from each of the other schools/colleges and from the Office of the Provost. The committee shall study, make recommendations, and report annually on recommendations of educational policy related to creating a more diverse and inclusive culture and the progress of the various units of the university and the university as a whole towards a more diverse and inclusive culture. The committee shall also timely review and report to the Policy Committee for possible Senate action any educational policy recommendations put forward by the university-wide DEI Council.

[COMMENT: The following changes simply renumber the standing committee sections based on the insertion of the DEIC at Section 11.]

Section 12. Elections Committee

Section 13. Facilities, Support Services and Technology Committee

Section 14. Faculty Affairs Committee

Section 15. Research Committee

Section 16. Student Affairs Committee