Wayne State University



Research Committee of the Academic Senate

May 1, 2024





Charges and Priorities

- Process for expedited/exempt IRB proposals
- > Review of Research Misconduct Guidelines
- > Review of process for charters of WSU centers and institutes

- Distribution of funds by OVPR
- Appropriate and evolving use of AI in research endeavors
- > Technology transfer issues
- Accessibility for student research and scholarly work
- > Requirements for faculty working with foreign entities



IRB: Expedited/Exempt

- Met with Monica Malian, Amanda Jeters, and Assoc. VP Philip Cunningham
- Proposed changes to streamline process (2023)
- Changes effected > 7 months later (vendor)
- Delays improved
- Identification of submission issues
- Loss of IRB staff: regression of processing time
- Anticipation of changes under new VPR



Other Charges

- > Research Misconduct Policy
 - Awaiting government ORI document update
 - Asked by OVPR and OCG to delay until official government document available
 - Distributed draft of new guidelines to membership as provided by Am. Soc. Physiol.

- Charters of centers & institutes
 - Addressed by Policy Committee



Issues Identified by Committee

- Distribution of funds by OVPR
 - Presentation by Interim VP Timothy Stemmler
- Appropriate and evolving use of AI in research endeavors
 - Rob Thompson, Richard Pineau, Robert Reynolds
- Technology transfer accessibility
 - Transfer of the office back to OVPR from Provost
 - Ken Massey
- Accessibility for student research and scholarly work
 - Kelly Dormer: Forager
- Requirements for faculty working with foreign entities
 - Assoc. VP Phil Cunningham and Asst. VP Gail Ryan, slides from Tom Cavalier
- Meeting with new VP Ezemenari Obasi



Members

- > Alan Dombkowski
- Ewa Golebiowska
- ➤ Haidong Gu
- Arun lyer
- Ramzi Mohammad
- Robert Reynolds
- ➤ Joseph Roche
- ➤ Noreen Rossi (chair)
- Cheryl Somers

- > Ellen Tisdale
- ➤ Le Yi Wang
- Hossein Yarandi
- Dongxiao Zhu
- Liaisons
 - Mohamed Dabaja
 - Jeremy Kodanko
 - Jun Sung Hong
 - Rachel Wallace
 - Timothy Stemmler
 - Ezemenari Obasi