Wayne State University

Research Committee

The Research Committee is concerned with the character of research operations at the University. The committee serves as the major committee responsible for the review of center/institute proposals. The committee is also concerned with a variety of issues and problems that affect the faculty's ability to support and carry out their research programs.

A major task of the committee each year is the establishment of subcommittees to review the many proposals which are submitted each year to the Vice-President for Research for research assistance. Included are monthly small grant proposals for which the Research Committee provides the input.

In addition, the committee suggests nominees to review the annual proposals for summer research assistance and the Graduate Research Assistant and Research Equipment competition.

Duties and Responsibilities

This committee concerns itself with new research programs, curtailment of research programs, encouragement of research, the relation between the research function of the University and its other functions, and all other questions concerning research that involves the University at large. This includes budgetary requirements and budgetary effects of policy changes. It should present a responsible cost analysis for any policy changes which it recommends to the Senate. It should be available to the chief research officer of the University to give advice and to help in the implementation of programs in support of research. It maintains the primary liaison with the appropriate executive officer(s) designated by the President.

Membership

Chair:

Alexey Petrov: apetrov@wayne.edu, 313-577-2739

Members:

Mary Anderson: maryelizabeth@wayne.edu, 313-577-7619

Ivan Avrutsky: avrtusky@wayne.edu, 313-577-4801

Cathryn Bock: bockc@karmanos.org, 313-578-4203

Tamara Bray: ac9791@wayne.edu, 313-577-2935

Susan Davis: sldavis@wayne.edu, 313-916-8724

Susan Eggly: egglys@karmanos.org, 313-576-8260

Andrew Fribley: afribley@med.wayne.edu, 313-577-8570

David Kessel: dhkessel@med.wayne.edu, 313-577-1766

Karen MacDonnel: kkolmodin@med.wayne.edu, 313577-6996

Jason Mateika: jmateika@med.wayne.edu, 313-576-4481

Izabela Podgorski: ipodgors.med.wayne.edu, 313-577-0941

Robert Reynolds: aa0057@wayne.edu, 313-577-0726

Amanuel Tekleab: atekleab@wayne.edu, 313-577-9211

Ronald Thomas: rthomans@med.wayne.edu, 313-745-2154

Sokol Todi: stodi@med.wayne.edu, 313-577-1173

Xin Wu; xin.wu@wayne.edu, 313-577-3882

Liaisons:

David Kessel, Policy Committee: dhkessel@med.wayne.edu, 313-577-1766

Avraham Raz, AAUP-AFT: raza@karmanos.org, 313-578-4330

Terrence Monks, Administration: ga3272@wayne.edu, 313-577-1716

Nourhan Hamadi, Student Senate: ft9367@wayne.edu, 

Carmen Giugescu, Graduate Council: ff9190@wayne.edu,  313-577-0151

Robin West Smith, UPTF: westsmith57@wayne.edu

 

Minutes: 2015-2016

Minutes: 2013-2014

Minutes: 2012-2013

Minutes: 2011-2012

Minutes: 2010-2011

Minutes:  2009-2010

Minutes:  2008-2009

Minutes:  2007-2008