Wayne State University

Curriculum and Instruction Committee

This committee concerns itself with academic policies, programs,and practices which affect the University as a whole. These concerns may extend to the internal affairs of colleges, schools, divisions, and other units of the University if they significantly affect the interests of other units or of the University as a whole. In particular, it is concerned with new instructional programs, curtailment of instructional programs, admissions policy, registration policy, calendar policy, and all other questions concerning curriculum and instruction, including budgetary requirements and budgetary effects of policy changes. It presents a responsible cost-analysis for any policy changes which it recommends to the Senate. The committee maintains primary liaison with the appropriate executive officer designated by the President.

This committee is one of several Senate committees asked to review proposals for new centers or institutes. The committee has discussed international student exchange programs and the University's English Proficiency Exam. A particular concern with the EPE was the importance of insuring a uniform set of options and standards for its administration.

Membership

Chair:

Jennifer Hart, eu0767@wayne.edu, 313-577-2525

Members:

Robert Ackerman, ackerman@wayne.edu, 313-577-3256

Douglas Barnett, douglas.barnett@wayne.edu, 313-577-2958

Paul Beavers, aa6536@wayne.edu, 313-577-4217

Smiti Gupta, sgupta@wayne.edu, 313-577-2500

Patricia Jarosz, ad9433@wayne.edu, 313-577-1798

Fayetta Keys, bb3704@wayne.edu, 313-577-3154

Qin Lai, af5531@wayne.edu, 313-577-4246

Diane Levine, dllevine@med.wayne.edu, 313-745-7999

Aaron Martin, aaron.martin@wayne.edu, 313-577-3506

Michele Porter, aa2961@wayne.edu, 313-577-4736

Mark VanBerkum, mvb@wayne.edu, 313-577-5554

Barrett Watten, barrett.watten@wayne.edu, 248-229-8894

Liaisons:

Victoria Dallas, Policy Committee: vdallas@wayne.edu, 313-577-2943

Meghan Courtney, AAUP-AFT: meghan.courtney@wayne.edu, 313-577-0147

Darin Ellis, Adminstration: rdellis@wayne.edu, 313-577-2024

Erika Ruch, Student Senate: erika.ruch@wayne.edu

Sharon Lean, Graduate Council: sflean@wayne.edu, 313-577-2630

Joanne Hildebrandt, UPTF: ac7189@wayne.edu, 313-577-2943

Minutes 2016-2017

Minutes 2015-2016

Minutes 2014-2015

Minutes 2013-2014

Minutes 2012-2013

Minutes 2011-2012

Minutes 2010-2011

Minutes 2009-2010