Wayne State University

Budget Committee

The Budget Committee monitors the process by which allocations are made to budgetary units and reports to the Academic Senate periodically on any significant changes in such allocations and on the criteria for such changes. It keeps itself informed as to the financial operations of the university. The Budget Committee provides advice to the university administration on budgetary matters on request or at its own initiative and it maintains primary liaison with the senior executive officer for budgetary matters.

At least four members of the Budget Committee are members of the Academic Senate but are not members of the Policy Committee. The Policy Committee is represented on this committee by at least two members; additional member(s) may be either from the Policy Committee or not, but must be in the Senate. The Policy Committee may appoint an additional member from outside the Senate membership. Such person, though not presently serving, should be eligible to serve on the Academic Senate. Such appointee cannot serve as chairperson, but is a member with voice and vote until a new committee is appointed in the subsequent academic year.

The Budget Committee is the busiest of the Senate committees. It meets almost every month of the year. This Committee meets prior to each Board of Governors meeting to discuss budget issues on the agenda. The committee also comments annually on the new University budget and Program Revision Requests to the State.

The committee also conducts an annual survey of unit heads to determine pressing budgetary needs. For several years the survey showed that new faculty lines, more support personnel and graduate assistants, and flexible budgeting practices were most needed.

Membership

Chair:

Linda Beale: lbeale@wayne.edu, 313-577-3941

Members:

Victoria Dallas: vdallas@wayne.edu, 313-577-2943

Donald DeGracia: ddegraci@med.wayne.edu, 313-577-6745

Brian Edwards: bedwards@med.wayne.edu, 313- 577-5107

Nancy George: ah1261@wayne.edu, 313-577-8300

Ewa Golebiowska: ao0189@wayne.edu, 313-577-2630

Mahendra Kavdia:kavdia@wayne.edu, 313-577-3803

Stephen Lerner: slerner@med.wayne.edu, 313-745-0804

Christopher Lund: ed9034@wayne.edu, 313-577-4046

Santanu Mitra: smitra@wayne.edu, 313-577-9908

Bryan Morrow: dr3344@wayne.edu, 313-577-4280

Charles Parrish: c.j.parrish@wayne.edu, 313-577-6334

Louis Romano: ljr@chem.wayne.edu, 313-577-2584

Heather Sandlin: hsandlin@wayne.edu, 313-577-5523

Richard Smith: smithrichardj@wayne.edu, 313-777-2262

Beena Sood: bsood@med.wayne.edu, 313-745-5638

William Volz: w.h.volz@wayne.edu, 313-577-4694

 

Non-Senate Member:

Sudip Datta: sdatta@wayne.edu, 313-577-0408

 

Liaisons:

 William Volz, Policy Committee:w.h.wolz@wayne.edu, 313-577-4694

James Sondheimer, AAUP-AFT: raa1693@wayne.edu, 313-745-7145

Diana Goode: Administration: fz7536@wayne.edu, 313-577-5426

William Decatur, Administration: william.decatur@wayne.edu, 313-577-5580

 Anthony Eid, Student Senate: aeid@med.wayne.edu, 248-310-8610

Christine Chow, Graduate Council: cchow@wayne.edu, 313-577-2594

Thomas Anderson, UPTF: thomas.anderson@wayne.edu, 313-577-2525

 

Special Budget Committee Meeting April 13, 2016

Special Budget Hearing March 2017

Minutes:

 

Reports